Today I was texting an encouraging message to my friend. My phone has a mind of its own, and loves to guess what word I am thinking of, and it helpfully suggests words based on keystrokes. And since it’s a machine it pulls out the first word that it thinks the keystrokes made.

 I wanted to tell her that God would bring us through as pure gold through each trial. But my phone took the keystrokes and interpreted them as ‘brought as pure hold through each trial’.

As I didn’t stop to read it back,  I sent it – typos and all. My loving friend mentally edited nonsense words and made sense out of it all. Later, when I re-read the message, I laughed about it, till it struck me that that was actually a pretty profound thought.

 We come through each trial as pure hold: HELD by Hands.

 So often when we think about our faith being tested, we think that we have to have the right attitudes in the trials, think the right things, say the right things, pray the right prayers. Its all up to us. And if we get it right, God will help us come through.

 While all along, we come through because we are HELD by His hands. The fires test and prove GOD’s ability to hold us and carry us through; His ability to work in us so that we come forth as gold.

 HELD

From the moment the zygote formed

HELD

At the first shocked cry

HELD

Till the final breath and beyond

Waters swell, swirl and tug

Fires roar and rage

The prowling lion circles

My heart and my strength may fail me

But I am HELD

Carved in the palm of His hand

He has willed that I should not perish

So I am HELD

Though my grip may loosen

Though I can’t see the way before me

I am HELD

By the One for whom darkness is light

Who guides my faltering steps

Who shelters me when my wick is smouldering.

 The fires lick away at His hands

Clenched over the precious treasure guarded within

The fires die out helpless

Unable to get the treasure within.

The waters pull at His hands

Seeking to pluck out the clinging wretch

But His grip never loosens

And the Wretch lands on the lofty rock perch.

His hands give strength to my fingers

As they lock with mine o’er the sword

The prowling lion lies conquered

At tiny command of the Lord.

 Fear burns up

Leaving golden faith

Faith in the Hands of the One who carries me.

 

The eternal God is your dwelling place,

and underneath are the everlasting arms.

And he thrust out the enemy before you

and said, Destroy.

Deu 33:27 ESV

 

Behold,

I have engraved you

on the palms of My Hands …

Isa 49:16 ESV

 

When you pass through the waters,

 I will be with you;

and through the rivers,

 they shall not overwhelm you;

when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,

and the flame shall not consume you.

For I am the LORD your God …

Isa 43:2-3 ESV

 

My soul clings to You;

Your right hand upholds me.

Psa 63:8 ESV

 

In all their affliction He was afflicted,

and the angel of His presence saved them;

in His love and in His pity he redeemed them;

He lifted them up and carried them all the days of old.

Isa 63:9 ESV

 

Listen to me, …

who have been borne by Me from before your birth,

carried from the womb;

even to your old age I am He,

and to gray hairs I will carry you.

I have made,

and I will bear;

I will carry and will save.

Isa 46:3-4 ESV