when Herod saw Jesus, he was exceeding glad:

for he was desirous to see him of a long season,

because he had heard many things of him;

and he hoped to have seen some miracle done by him.” Luke 23:8

Ah, Jesus, so I get to meet you finally.

Great troublemakers you lot are.

Pity that, about your cousin John the Baptist –

Very holy and all that, but very foolish.

He wouldn’t listen to reason.

Now, they tell me that you are a bit different from him.

That you actually do miracles.

Is that true that you turned water into wine?

And all that about people getting healed –

Is that for real, or just psychological ravings of people on an emotional high?

Well, well, well, this is very interesting.

So what do you have planned for us today?

Moses turned his staff into a snake

And the water in the jar into blood.

Are you going to do something like that?

I am hoping for something more mind boggling.

Oh yes, don’t do the water into blood thing –

It makes a mess.

Come on, don’t stand there doing nothing!

It’s boring, and I abominate bores.

Why do I feel his eyes look into my heart?

Why do I want to get up and give him my throne?

Okay, maybe you’re out of tricks today.

Tell me, then, what do you have to say?

Do you think you are the announced Messiah?

What are your plans? Come answer, sirrah!

Insolence! I won’t stand for it.

What do you mean what’s the verdict, Caiaphas?

Guilty! Should I say that?

Hmmm, I don’t know what the people would say.

I don’t know whether my popularity ratings would stand it.

Besides, what if he is who he says he is…

Why do I feel his eyes look into my heart?

Why do I feel like I want to fall at his feet and ask forgiveness?

Forgiveness? I am the King! Above the law!

Guards! A purple robe please!

Let’s teach this upstart a lesson.

Execute him? Ah Caiaphas, let Pilate deal with that.

><><><><><>< 

The three wise men saw the star in the east proclaiming the birth of someone who they knew was going to be a significant king. They packed their bags, packed precious, prophetic gifts and travelled miles across difficult terrain, to personally worship the king who was born. What did they get out of that encounter? They met a young child. They didn’t receive pearls of wisdom or any earthly favours. And yet it is recorded for us, that, “they rejoiced with exceeding great joy. And when … they saw the young child … and fell down, and worshipped him: …” Mat 2:10-11  

Zacchaeus climbed a tree to get a glimpse of Jesus. When Jesus took notice of him, Zacchaeus received Jesus joyfully, made a 180 turnaround in his life, and did all he could to set things right.

Herod, had a mental image of Jesus, and what that Jesus would do. Herod only wanted to be entertained, and was disappointed that Jesus would not play ball.

Jesus warned His disciples to beware the leaven of Herod.

  • The superficial seeker.
  • The professed theist but functional atheist.
  • Looking for experiences.
  • Collecting anecdotes.
  • Full of one’s own worth.
  • Trusting one’s rank and status.
  • Wanting to be in control.
  • Resisting the voice of the Holy Spirit.
  • Seeking endorsement and approval for hedonistic lifestyles.

 How we would love to have a tame god who jumps through hoops for us. And how we reject the True Living God, because He keeps exploding the tame gods we create. How we love to put the lid on the voice of the Holy Spirit and push for our will to be done. We want a safe God who will endorse our lifestyles instead of bringing our lives into alignment with His.

 Lord, help us to love You and worship You for who You are, not what we imagine you to be. Amen

 

