Yesterday I somehow ended up listening to a song from my childhood –

‘He’s still working on me’

And one of the lines goes:

“There really ought to be a sign upon my heart
Don’t judge her yet, there’s an unfinished part”

That made me smile.

Work In Progress.

What a wonderful thing to remember when I’ve goofed up yet again to remember that God has not given up on me, that He is still working on me! What a wonderful thing to remember that it took 6 days for God to get the entire Universe together and going, but He is still working patiently on me! Its taking Him that long, because He waits patiently for me to quieten down and listen to Him. Then He waits for me to be willing to obey Him.

HE

WAITS

FOR

ME!

He allowed me to savour the joy of the moment.

Then His hands began to move again – pushing and shaping…

‘Do you love receiving My grace? Does it lift burdens from your heart?

Does it make you feel loved?

Yes?

I’m glad.

Do you know your husband, your child, your family, your church are my unfinished symphonies too? I am still working on them too, you know? I haven’t given up on them either, you know? I love them too.’

I could see what He was getting at. I want grace. I want people to remember that I am still an unfinished work. To see me with eyes of grace and compassion. I want it, to hoard it, but to give it… well, that pinches.

Jesus said, ‘Love your neighbour as yourself’

Hmmmm…. How often do I actually see others with the eyes of grace that I see myself?

It is so easy to get discouraged with churchanity, especially when you see people teach one thing and do another thing. It is so easy to throw up one’s hands and do the 1000m dash like Elijah did.

But God was catching me on that one.

‘Are you willing to give grace to others? The grace you have so freely and lavishly received from ME?’

Willing? Well, I am willing to learn how…

‘Lord, give me the grace to see my brothers and sisters in Christ as being complete in You. Help me not to get exasperated with them because they are still unfinished symphonies. Thank you for loving me as I am, for never giving up on me. Give me eyes to see as You see, and release my heart Lord to love as You love me. In Jesus Name. Amen’

And may the Lord make you to

increase and abound in love

toward one another and toward all, …

1Th 3:12 MKJV

