My mobile phone inbox has been filled today with messages celebrating womanhood and wishing me ‘Happy Women’s Day’, telling me how strong, beautiful, yadda, yadda, yadda, we are as a gender.

And as I read them, suddenly the thought came to me, ‘What about all those women, lonely, frightened, despairing, trapped and abused as sex slaves; women caught in abusive relationships; women raped and mutilated in war zones; women struggling to get justice; struggling to get their lives together again?’

Where do they fit into the scheme of things?

It is so easy to sweep the inconvenient and ungainly under the carpet. But today let’s stop and  consciously think about them, their plight. Maybe an impossible dream will be born in our hearts on how we can actually make a difference in their lives.

If you are reading this blog, would you stop and join me in a prayer for women around the world who are hurting and despairing, that they would find comfort, healing, freedom, justice and restoration.

 

 

 

