A few days ago, all of Jerusalem had been agog as the Messiah rode in, chased out the merchants and moneylenders. Expectations were high, maybe now was the moment of revolution. But, the Messiah did not follow their script or expectations. Garments were cleared of the road, and the palm fronds withered and died.

Now, 2 days before the Passover, probably the night before the Last Supper, in the quiet little Jerusalem suburb of Bethany, Simon the Leper, healed, restored to the bosom of his family, socially acceptable once more, throws a feast to celebrate his healing and the Source of his healing.

Into that feast walks a nameless woman. Nothing is known about her, who she is, why she did what she did. Only her actions, and the reactions to her actions are recorded.

Why did she pour a bottle of expensive nard on Jesus’ head? Maybe, with the eyes of the Spirit, she saw beyond what others could see. Others saw a tame Messiah, she saw the One whose word the Universe obeys. Whatever her motivation, hers was a very symbolic and prophetic act.

And as she poured the oil on Jesus’ head, did she see within her being, the coming together of justice and mercy, the union of priest and king?

Oil running down Aaron’s head and beard

Anointing him, setting him apart,

In the service of the Lord,

Carrying on his heart before the Lord

The stones of remembrance,

Offering sacrifices for the sins of the people.

Oil poured out on David’s head

Proclaiming him the Lord’s anointed king.

To establish justice and righteousness,

To lead by his example,

To serve the people on the Lord’s behalf.

Now the oil is poured on Jesus head

Anointed High Priest carrying the people before the Lord

The Scapegoat on whom the sins of the people had been placed

The Peace offering, the pure, spotless, Ram of consecration

Whose blood would be sprinkled

To sanctify a royal priesthood in the service of God.

Anointing oil flowing on Jesus’ head

Proclaims

” I have set my King on Zion, my holy hill

You are my Son; …

Ask of me, and I will make the nations your heritage,

and the ends of the earth your possession.

In You I AM well-pleased.”

Father, You anoint my head with oil

In the presence of my enemies;

I am Yours, consecrated, set apart.

I am ready to be broken

As bread must, before it can be eaten.

I am willing to be crushed

So Living Waters can flow.

I am Your servant

In my hands Your will prospers.

This perfume floods only this house

But the whole earth is full of Your glory;

And when I am pierced and lifted up

The whole earth will be filled with

The knowledge of Your Glory

As the waters cover the sea.”

… So speaks Jehovah of Hosts, saying, Behold the Man whose name is The BRANCH… and He shall build the temple of Jehovah …and He shall bear the glory, and shall sit and rule on His throne. And He shall be a priest on His throne; and the counsel of peace shall be between them both.

Zec 6:12-13 MKJV

 

Readings: Matt 26: 6-13,   Mark 14:3-9

