Where: city of Nain?

When: widow’s son was raised; John sends his disciples to ask Jesus if He IS the Messiah; the Pharisees are confused by Jesus, can’t make up their minds about Him. They’re offended by John the Baptist and Jesus, because neither conforms to their idea of what men of God should be.

Event: A Pharisee invites Jesus over for a meal (Luke 7:36-50)

Dramatis Personae: The Patronising Pharisee, The Weeping Woman, Jesus

The Patronising Pharisee:

Who is this Jesus? How does He raise the dead, heal the sick, make whole the lepers, the blind to see, the lame to walk?

He speaks the scriptures with such authority and depth of insight. He must be a man of God.

Is he The Messiah?

Surely he can’t be!!!!

 His manners are shockingly casual. He’s very lax about toeing the line.

 Look at the people he associates with – publicans, tax collectors, sinners all. They are the ones appointed for the wrath of God, a blot on our society, an offense to our Holy God. Doesn’t he know that?

 I want to talk at length with him. The boy’s got talent for sure. Maybe I can provide him with the opening he needs into a better society – into the circle of the high-minded, right-living, men who find favour in the eyes of the Lord.

 That’s it! I’ll be his patron, talk to him, shape him, show him the ropes…

 Ah, Jesus, please would you share a meal with me? Come, let’s go in and eat.

 The Weeping Woman:

I saw today the happy faces of those who found new hope, made whole, delivered from all kinds of afflictions. I met the mother of the boy You raised from the dead. She can’t stop weeping for joy and praising God.

 You must be the Messiah, the Son of the Living God. For God alone has the power to heal and deliver in this manner.

 I see Your eyes full of joy, and love and compassion. They make me think You can see each person’s story and heart. How can You see us so fully, and not turn Your face away in disgust? How can You see our hearts and still stretch forth Your hand to touch, to heal, to bless?

 You see me, my King, my Lord. You know the depths of my heart. There is nothing hidden from You. Where can I run to hide?

 You know the things that enslave me, the ashes of unkept promises, still born dreams, the fig leaves and all.  It seems that I have gone so far down the road of depravity, there is no hope of turning back.

 And yet, when I stand before You, all I can see is that I was once created to be holy.

 Lord, please forgive me, for trampling on this gift of life You gave to me. I repent, Lord, of having lived for my own pleasures, I want to change, I want to start all over again.

  (wiping His feet with her hair) My lovers have praised my beauty, but defiled me by their greedy touch. Somehow without words being spoken, I know that You love me, with a Father’s love, chaste and pure. My hair feels honoured and cleansed as it wipes Your feet.

 (kissing His feet) The memories of numberless lustful embraces are erased by this one pure holy touch. Lord, will You forgive my sins, will You give me a clean new heart? Be merciful to me; heal my soul; for I have sinned against You.

 (rubbing the ointment into His feet) How beautiful are Your feet, My King, walking the miles, crossing mountains, bringing me hope and the promise of new life. You have brought comfort, health, strength, new beginnings to so many. May this ointment bring You comfort and rejoice and gladden Your heart.

The Patronising Pharisee:

If there was any doubt about Jesus, this settles it. If he is a man of God, he would know what kind of woman knelt before him. He would call down judgment upon her. Yet, look at him, he allows her to touch him!!!!! It’s a good thing I found out now. It would have been embarrassing to sponsor him and endorse him, and then find that he is a charlatan after all.

 Jesus:

My son, can you not see that both of you – the rule-keeper and the rule-breaker – both are in need of the mercy of God? For no matter how perfectly you keep all the rules, can you truly say that you love the Lord your God with all your heart, mind, soul and strength?

 You see in me an iffy itinerant possible prophet, but she sees in me the Messiah, the Son of the Living God.

 “Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. Mat 5:4

 I will heal their backslidings; I will love them freely; for My anger has turned away from him.

I will be as the dew to Israel; …

His branches shall spread, and his beauty shall be as the olive tree, …

They who dwell under his shadow shall return;

they shall revive like the grain, and grow like the vine…Hos 14:4-7

 And he said to the woman, “Your faith has saved you; go in peace.” Luke 7:50

 

