I am not ashamed, My Father,

To be identified with these My brothers,

Weak, helpless, foolish,

Blind, deaf,

Wilful, sinful though they be.

I feel all the weight and torment

Of the sin that they carry:

The soul invading darkness

That shuts out the light of Your glory.

Oh, how I hear the voice of the seducer

Showing Me the easy way out,

But I see these My brothers

Redeemed from Sheol,

Made whole,

Restored to Your embrace,

And I cannot turn back O My Father

I have waited these many ages

This moment of freedom to see

I am willing and ready O My Father,

The cup of judgment and wrath to receive.

“Tetelestai!” He cried out

As he drained the cup to the end.

Gladly He gave up His spirit

Into the Father’s waiting hands.

He had done all that He set out to do,

Now His Father would take over the baton,

The lonely embrace of Sheol would be broken

For the Father would never abandon,

His Holy One, His Only Begotten Son,

To the grimy hold of the grave.

Death, by His death would be broken

At the Father’s Life-giving command,

The dawn of a new creation,

springing from the womb of an empty grave.

 “ That is why He is not ashamed to call them brothers, …

Since therefore the children share in flesh and blood,

He Himself likewise partook of the same things,

that through death

He might destroy the one who has the power of death,

that is, the devil,

and deliver all those who through fear of death were subject to lifelong slavery…

For because he himself has suffered when tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.

Heb 2:11-18 ESV

“For behold,

I create new heavens and a new earth,

and the former things shall not be remembered or come into mind.

But be glad and rejoice forever in that which I create;

for behold,

I create Jerusalem to be a joy,

and her people to be a gladness.

Isa 65:17-18 ESV

 

 

