Dust balls of

Unfinished sentences

Half formulated thoughts

Lie in my diary

Each sentence opens doors on dreams

On worlds and lives made of cloud.

Glimmering shards of truth

Shine through the dust balls and clouds

Maybe someday I’ll string them together

Shards of truth splintering light

Rainbow patches splash on the blankness

Yet meaning and purpose they have none.

Or maybe I’ll put them in the Hands of the One who made me

The One whose voice the wind and waves obey

When He speaks, splintered shards of truth are not random

Beautiful foundation stones they become

Perfectly interlaced and balanced

With meaning and purpose endowed

Granting me strength and sure footing

Singing the song of salvation

Revealing my Saviour’s heart.

 

“O thou afflicted, tossed with tempest, and not comforted, behold, I will lay thy stones with fair colours, and lay thy foundations with sapphires. And I will make thy windows of agates, and thy gates of carbuncles, and all thy borders of pleasant stones.”

Isa 54:11-12

 

 

