Ashes and sackcloth!

Mourning and affliction!

I have seen you Lord

Your glory revealed in a broken form

Torn and bleeding lips crying ‘Father, forgive…’

Bar-Abbas, son of a nameless father,

Guilty, condemned and worthy to die,

Walks free, Another died in his place.

I have seen you Lord

In the naked skinny waif on the street

Motherless and homeless;

In the rheumy wrinkle faced pensioner

Lonely and forgotten;

In the hopeless eyes of the once bright child

Imprisoned by drugs that clamp like a vice.

I have seen you Lord.

Ashes and sackcloth!

Mourning and affliction!

I have seen you Lord and have walked on by,

Hoarding Your grace, lest Your well run dry.

And now Lord, the sparkling water is stagnant and dull

I repent Lord, change my heart.

 

The people complain, ‘Why do we fast and you don’t look our way? Why do we humble ourselves and you don’t even notice?’

God:      “Well, here’s why: “The bottom line on your ‘fast days’ is profit. You drive your employees much too hard.

You fast, but at the same time you bicker and fight..

       Do you think this is the kind of fast day I’m after: a day to show off humility?

       To put on a pious long face and parade around solemnly in black?

       Do you call that fasting, a fast day that I, GOD, would like?

 This is the kind of fast day I’m after: to break the chains of injustice, get rid of exploitation in the workplace, free the oppressed, cancel debts.

What I’m interested in seeing you do is: sharing your food with the hungry, inviting the homeless poor into your homes, putting clothes on the shivering ill-clad, being available to your own families.” Isa 58:3 – 7

 (Quoted from ‘The Message’)

 

 

